PDA

View Full Version : large format

big paul
25th October 2016, 12:06 AM
I was wondering what large format camera users shoot ,with small and medium format you can photograph almost anything but I would guess that its a bit harder with LF so you would have to plan your shoot before hand ,.I have thought about having a go with LF but I wouldn't know where to start so what is it you like to photograph and what made you start ..

www.essexcockney.com

Dave Hodson
25th October 2016, 06:37 AM
Hi there

I'm relatively new to LF but for me, part of this is going back to something I left off years ago - now that I'm retired, I'm moving away from digital and taking it up again. If I was to pick one thing though, there's just that something special about the look of a fine black and white print.

Enlargers are hard to find and expensive to ship long distances here in Canada so I my original plan was to scan and print. 4x5 seemed like a reasonable negative size for detail so I coupled this with an Epson V850 scanner and an Epson 3880 printer using Jon Cone's piezography inks. I haven't installed the Cone inks yet but prints with Epson's inks and ABW look pretty good. This setup can also let me print to large transparencies and contact print in a darkroom which is something I want to try.

The one thing about 4x5, apart from reasonable scanning detail for large prints, is that it seems to be a more accessible format as a starting point - lots of good used equipment around for not a huge amount of money plus easier to lug around than the bigger formats.

That was the plan anyway - kind of a hybrid film/digital workflow based on no enlarger. Wouldn't you know it though? I just found an Omega 4x5 enlarger in good shape and am now in the process of building the darkroom I'd envisioned years ago.

So much to learn and so little time.

Good luck with your efforts
Dave

MartyNL
25th October 2016, 08:29 AM