PDA

View Full Version : Any Microphen fans here?

Svend
18th January 2017, 06:18 PM
I have recently been given several packs of Microphen and, not wanting to toss it, I am trying to get a handle on how to get the best out of it wrt. film pairing, general use, etc.. I have never used it before, being happy with my standard developers and not really needing the extra speed boost that Microphen is known for.

So my questions are...:
1) Disregarding the speed boost thing, how does it perform as a general-use developer? Say, compared to ID-11, Xtol, etc.? Is it capable of good image quality, in context of a general-use dev? If so, are there any tricks to get the most out of it? (eg. dilution, non-std. agitation).
2) What films does it work best with? Regular grain (FP4, HP5) or tabular (Delta, Tmax)?
3) How would you describe it's overall character? Sp. the usual parameters - sharpness, gradation, shadows/highlights?

There seems to be little comment about its properties out there in the wider web, other than its speed increase. Anchell and Troop don't seem too keen on it; likewise neither was Thornton, if I recall; but neither elaborate more than a brief comment or two. I've looked extensively for some further insight, and although it seems to have its adherents, I haven't found anyone who has really described its character thoroughly. Looking at posted image examples (Flickr, Ipernity, etc.) shows very few images that really shine; most seem rather drab, to be honest, which is a bit discouraging. Surely there must be a film combo and technique that make it sing? I'm curious to experiment a bit with it, and I'd be happy if it gave me as good image quality as, say, ID-11 or Perceptol (my daily drivers). Or should I just hang on to it until I shoot a bunch of film in low light and need the extra speed?

Any insight most welcomed. Thanks in advance!

Best,
Svend

alexmuir
18th January 2017, 11:00 PM