PDA

View Full Version : Old film

smiggsy
10th February 2013, 01:31 PM
Hi,

I've had hidden away in a wardrobe many rolls of colour film that was exposed during the 70's!

Using my Jobo CPE processor with fresh Tetenal C41 chemicals, I processed 2 35mm Kodacolor II films and they both were blank!
Even the frame numbers along the edges were blank, but if I looked really closely in some places there are the faintest signs of an image.

I have 5 more 35mm Kodacolors & 2 120 Vericolor II roll films to develop and don't want to have the same results.

I've had many years experience in b&w developing & printing, and have processed many very old exposed films with good results. Is there a trick to processing very old colour films that I don't know about?

Finally, I have 4 rolls of old colour film that requires the discontinued C22 process. Can anyone recommend a good processing company that can do these?

Regards, Barry

Mike O'Pray
10th February 2013, 06:26 PM
Barry the first thing you need to look for is the colour equivalent of the B&W film leader. Is there any orange/brown masking where the leader was. This bit of film has been totally zapped with light and I can see no reason why even after all these years this shouldn't develop at least partially.

Equally, blank edges is worrying. As far as I know the image of the word Kodak is in the film and should develop.

This is theory on my part as I have never had to deal with this problem but while colour neg film of the 70s left a bit to be desired in terms of colour stability etc I'd have thought that the leader's exposure could not have disappeared.