PDA

View Full Version : Thornton Pickard Portrait Puck

SarahP
7th April 2013, 04:57 PM
Hello

My furniture restorer Dad has found one of these in a chest of drawers he bought. It's all in working order, but the paint inside is flaking in a couple of places.
If anyone has any suggestions for cleaning up I'd be delighted S would like to put a roll of film through out of curiosity. ( any thoughts on best film to use also much appreciated- I was going to use HP5+ as that's what I use in 35mm and am a complete newbie processor)

Basically anything anyone knows at all about the camera please do share!

Many thanks
Sarah

Lostlabours
7th April 2013, 05:21 PM
I usually spray paint where paint has flaked off if possible but if not have a matt acrylic paint that works well. Normally I use one I can only buy in Turkey however I found a Uk brand last week. Docraft (TM) Artiste - all purpose Acrylic paint- Noir -, it dries to a finish that matches, I've just used it to restore a Rolleiflex Automat lens hood as well as some internal wear in the cameras back.

I should have some adverts for the camera, it'll be a day or so before I'll get a chance to look. I'm in the middle of restoring 3 Thornton Pickard cameras, 2reflex & a wood & brass field camera. So have fun, I'd try FP4 or HP5.

Ian

Mike O'Pray
7th April 2013, 05:33 PM
I'd endorse Ian's recommendations on film. Depending on light conditions HP5+ might be better unless we get strong sunshine in the next few days as it is quite a bit faster than FP4+

I'd go with Ilford's developing times and processing regime as well until you are in a position to establish a film test for your own personal film speed but don't worry about this for now.

Best of luck

Mike

Lostlabours
7th April 2013, 06:50 PM
2nd thoughts Ilfor'd backing papers and the numbering are almost impossible to read through the red window at the back.