Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > General discussions > Photography in general

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 21st January 2021, 07:04 PM
Friend

Default ilford paper

I've just read somewhere that if you make a print with one type of Ilford paper, eg RC, you can make a print with a different type, eg Fibre, without altering the settings or exposure, and the print will be the same. Is this true? I always thought that there were differences, not only between paper types, but between batches of the same paper. I've been printing for 18 years, and have only just found this out. If it's true of course.
Thank you.
Old 21st January 2021, 07:33 PM
Friend

It sounds as if in 18 years you have yet to try a different llford paper at the same exposure to see if it's the same?

I haven't tried this myself either but my understanding is that the exposure is governed by the emulsion.

So the key question is: Is RC emulsion the same as FB? My recent "take" in this from other threads I have seen is that the new RC MG Deluxe, often referred to as MGV is very close indeed to the FB Classic

Only experimenting by trying will you know for definite but as long as all other things are equal as they say in terms of amount of light from the enlarger( bulb wattage), print size, contrast filter if used then the resultant print will come very close

Worth waiting for other replies of course as I may have missed something. It might be worth looking at the Ilford sheets on its papers RC vFB to see how close the ISO speeds for the papers are. If they are very close this will give an indication of how each reacts to the same exposure in terms of light intensity

Mike
Old 21st January 2021, 08:25 PM
Friend