Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Monochrome Work > Monochrome printing techniques

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 16th March 2014, 08:38 PM
Friend

Default Ilford Cooltone FB ?

How cold is it? Brovira cold, Forte Polygrade cold? Also, how flat does it dry? Thanks.
Old 17th March 2014, 09:34 AM
Friend

It depends what you develop it in. I've no experience of the older papers you mention (too young!) but it's noticeably cooler than MGIV FB in any given developer. I use a home-brewed dev called E72, which is just a ascorbic acid-based version of D72 (Dektol) which gives it almost a blue-black tone. The base paper is a very cold white so in a warn-tone dev it gives neutral shadows and mid-tones with very cool highlights. It also cools a bit more in selenium toner, although don't overdo it or the shadows start to turn purple-ish rather than blue-black (unless you like that effect!)

The only colder paper I've found is Kentmere Bromide in E72/D72

I'll post some scans of my efforts with it this evening.

Rob
Old 17th March 2014, 01:19 PM
Friend

Thank you Rob. My developer of choice is Moersch Eco 4812, an ascorbic-based developer and Eukobrom from Tetenal, both cold working. Another cold tone paper is said to be Slavich Unibrom.
Old 18th March 2014, 08:07 AM
Friend

When Ilford first released Cooltone in RC they advised that in order to get the coolest tone development should be increased from 2 to 3 minutes. Have any users found that this is the case with the FB version?
Old 18th November 2019, 01:12 PM
Friend

Default Any one tried Ilford's RC Cooltone paper? Reviews please. :)

Resurrecting this thread, as I'm thinking of getting a small pack of Ilford's RC Cooltone paper to try out.