Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Monochrome Work > Monochrome printing techniques

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 13th January 2019, 05:10 PM
New User

Default Contrast trouble

Hi.

I have been printing in my own darkroom for a few months but have been getting stuck with a problem that I can't seem to find my way out of.

I have a roll of Ilford FP4 that I have shot at EI200, and I am very pleased with the negativs. I made a contact print on MG RCIV on a contract of 2 for 12 seconds, and the contact print is luminous, with good blacks and bright highlights, exactly what I want.

When I come to make an enlargement however I can never achieve the same level of contrast. I have tried using contrast 5, no filter and same time, split grade printing, straight printing and Ansel Adam's method of starting at 00 and increasing the contrast grade, but it always comes out muddy and lifeless.

My paper is fresh, my chemicals are fresh, safelight is good and using a colour englarger so I am dialling in my grades.

Any advice on anything else I can try would be much apreciated.

Thanks.
Old 13th January 2019, 06:04 PM
Friend

It would would help to see a straight neg scan, if you could manage this ?

Neil.

Neil Souch
Old 13th January 2019, 06:17 PM
Friend

A photo of the negative in front of a white background would help.

Ian
Old 13th January 2019, 07:49 PM
Friend

Contact print and enlargements on same paper and same (fresh) developer?

Is the projected image on the baseboard/easel clear and sharp looking?

Has the enlarger setup produced good prints recently?
Old 13th January 2019, 08:11 PM
Friend