Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Monochrome Work > Monochrome Film

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 17th May 2022, 12:43 AM
Friend

Question Ultrafine Finesse 100 35mm Bulk B&W experiance

Hello new friends,

and maybe a few old friends... First post here. I did try to search here so no pitchforks and torches please

Great emojis!

Anyway, has anyone used this film and have any comments on it?

I've seen a lot of fans of the Ultrafine Extreme. Very little on the Finesse. I searched the whole inner-web thang from end to end and all I found for Finesse was one chap that posted the first few he developed and no comments or follow up photos after refining his process. Maybe he will soon

I'm trying to get something less expensive (in the US) to roll my own and learn on. I'm new to developing film too. My first roll was HP5 and I had light leaks in my not-so-darkroom (fixed). Of course I made a lot of mistakes, but I saw images and escaped with most of my fingers. After fixing the darkroom leaks, I developed a roll of FP4 that came out better than I expected. No magazine covers yet. That takes time

I'm thinking about ordering the film loader and some cassettes from B&H, so that would get me above 50 USD to get their free shipping. They have a pretty good selection of 100 ft bulk film, from around $65 to $105 for Arista EDU, Foma, Kentmere, Rollei, and Ilford (HP5 and FP4).

The Finesse is 50 USD plus 10 shipping and a longer wait. Not in a huge rush, I still have another roll of FP4 to develop and Delta100 to finish shooting. But unless I hear some yummy goodness stories about this film, I am inclined to pass on it and get something else.