Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Member Organised Functions > Business Matters

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 8th April 2010, 11:35 AM
Friend

Default Shooting Weddings with film.

Hi, just seeking advice and opinions really. Back in the 80's and early 90's I was a regular wedding photographer, having a wedding to capture almost every weekend from April to November. At that time I was doing all processing and printing myself - mainly colour and the odd few mono.
I recently had an inkling to get back into this as I miss it quite a lot, so my question is; how feasible do you all think it would be to cover weddings using M.F. film in this day and age? Is their still a place for such a thing? I really don't want to take the D route as I would not enjoy the experience, and I'm mainly thinking of this for the pleasure.
Old 8th April 2010, 11:40 AM
Friend

I think it's very feasible and if I were going to do this (which I'm not) I would only use film.

I would do it the way my father did it for forty years which was:

Take photographs;
Send film to lab who provide proofs;
Put proofs in album for bride and groom;
Collect orders for re-prints;
Get lab to make prints.

No tedious computer based post processing which most digital wedding photographers seem to take hours doing.

I have done two weddings myself for friends and I did them both with a Mamiya RB67, 50mm, 90mm and 180mm lenses and a Vivitar 285 flash with a reflector. If I was doing it professionally I would use the same equipment but buy backups for some items.