Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Monochrome Work > Monochrome Film

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 15th October 2010, 09:58 PM
Friend

Default Out of date film

Hello,

I'm a bit of a novice with B&W film developing etc and have recently been given several rolls of Neopan (1600 and 400). The films are several years out of date, (2006-2007) and I doubt that they have been stored in a fridge or similar.

Please can I ask if it is worth using?

I want to improve my technical knowledge and skills in developing for different film/scene contrasts etc mainly following John Blakemore's excellent black and white photography book. Whilst the idea of using old film for 'practising' seems sensible to me, I am concerned that should the film deteriorate significantly this would not be helpful.

Any advice would be most appreciated, thank you.
Old 15th October 2010, 10:26 PM
Friend

There's no reason why you shouldn't use it. How a film is stored is important, but so long as it hasn't been kept near a radiator or in direct sunlight, you should be fine with it. I've developed black & white film in the past which had expired several years previously and have managed to make satisfactory prints out of it. The films in question had been kept in a drawer so it was well away from heat and light.
Old 15th October 2010, 11:29 PM
Friend

Welcome to FADU Quality film such as made by Ilford, Kodak and Fuji are remarkably tough and if they were mine I'd certainly use them and expect good negs.

Both types may have lost a little speed. It depends on what developer you use but unless it is a slight speed increasing one such as Ilford DDX or Microphen, I'd be inclined to set the speed on your camera at 320 or 250 and maybe reduce development time by 10% from that recommended for the 400 speed.