Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Monochrome Work > Monochrome printing techniques

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 7th July 2010, 05:21 PM
Friend

Default Gold toning

As total noob in toning I need some advice on gold toning.

As I can read, the toner is used full strength. What I don't know is how long does it work? Does it stop working after it gets exhausted or does it work till the last drop? How long does it last in the bottle? In what way does it affect bromide papers like Ilford FB, Adox Vario Classic /Efke Varycon? Do they go cold or indeed blue?

Thanks!

Miha
Old 7th July 2010, 05:54 PM
Friend

My experience is only of the Tetenal product. That is used straight from the bottle undiluted. It slowly exhausts and the colour of the tone achieved will change as it does so. It is very easy to ruin it by contamination, so keep dedicated funnels, and trays in which to use it and nothing else. Make sure prints are very well washed before putting them in the toner.

As you surmise the tone achieved is a cold blue to blue/grey and will have different effects on different papers.

It can also be used in conjunction with other toners.

An example.
Old 7th July 2010, 06:14 PM
Friend

Dave, I have yet to see a better example than this for authentic sea toning. When I first saw the thumbnail somewhere else I thought it was a colour shot that had a great muted blue.

Mike
Old 7th July 2010, 06:22 PM
Friend