Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > General discussions > Photography in general

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 19th February 2009, 11:04 PM
Friend

Post Agency portraits and glamour stuff

I had a great afternoon today. A friend of mine asked if I could take some portraits of her Daughter who is a young Dancer/Actress. Dominique is due to sit for a Photographer in September but is auditioning for parts beforehand and needed some emergency shots to send to her Agent.

I've never done any of this type of stuff before but I thought it would be really fun as I know Mother and Daughter quite well and they are both good for a laugh.

Well, what a buzz we got from it. I decided that due to the type of "assignment", I would use my digital SLR as my rangefinder was not really the right tool to use (just thought I'd mention that I'm really a film photographer in case this post gets knocked back). I took out the beast, blew off the dust and cob webs and before I knew it, I was in David Bailey mode (yeah right) on motor wind. This was very different than what I'm used to taking but I really got into the swing of things. We had such a great laugh trying things out and different poses. It was a revelation to me. What a lark. I had a rough idea what I was doing and what we needed to produce for an agency portrait but it didn't matter really. It's something I'd like to try again. I know it's a huge subject but has anyone got any experiences and advice on portraiture and glamour stuff that they want to share.