Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > General discussions > Photography in general

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 16th January 2015, 01:20 AM
Friend

Default new medium format user

hello i thought i would join this forum as i have just recently decided to sell my FF digital camera and get a film setup.

I think i managed to get a real bargain, i bought a mamiya rb67 pro sd with pro sd back and kl 127mm lens for £150 and its in near perfect condition. i havnt developed any film yet but i dont forsee any problems.

its been a while since i used film but i did learn at college and printed my own photos there on 35mm.

ok so im new to medium format and have a few questions,

do the leaf shutter lenses behave differently to normal lenses, regarding the captured image? or should itake anything into account if used to normal lenses?

if i use an old slr for a light meter, should i make any major adjustments when dialling into the medium format camera? is spot meter/centre ok ? should i use the same focal lengths or is say 50mm ok if transfering to the 127,, (65 ish equivalent )

im thinking of getting kodak trix 400 film and rodinal to develop the negatives, for starters, is that a good base to work from?

ill be mainly doing outdoor stuff landscapes, cityscapes, using a tripod and possibly same portraits with natural light.

ill worry about printing later i think !

oh and if iwant a wide angle lens.. is the 50mm c the best one to get?

thanks in advance, looking forward to getting started!
Old 16th January 2015, 08:11 PM
Friend

Welcome to FADU, Jimmy. Lots of questions there with no doubts lots of answer to come and not all answers will necessarily be the same