Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Site Forums > Introductions

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 5th March 2010, 11:17 PM
Friend

Default Hello.

Hello to you all.

I have been circling this site for a little while rather like the shy kid at a party, but eventually I had to introduce myself, so here goes.

I am a very amateur snapper who has been trying to reacquant himself with the dark arts practiced by members of this very intelligent web site.

I have rebuilt my darkroom and been printing again for 3 or so years with little success but much pleasure. I am fortunate to have both 35mm and medium formats and force myself not to try large format, because I know I would like it and would wind up sleeping on a bench surrounded by yet more cameras and stuff. No matter how many times I tell myself its just a light tight box, I still turn in to Gollum and "needs the precious"

I can take a nice photograph with digital, but I still cannot get over the excitement of seeing a picture emerge from nothing, its like being 11 years old every time.

Making a print is what I like, I think, and for all the dust muck ups and reprints it beats the pants off the perfection of a computer programmed technological marvel. sometimes things can be too perfect perhaps.

Please be patient with me as I am not a natural "joiner"
At some point when I have worked out how I may even post a picture!
Who knows what madness might take me?

With best wishes to you all.

James.
Old 5th March 2010, 11:26 PM
Friend

Hi and welcome to FADU, no need to be shy or nervous everyone here is helpful and a pleasure to know.
You will not regret joining, I call in here most days and have been a member for nearly a year and its always informative.

Neil
Old 5th March 2010, 11:36 PM
Administrator