Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Equipment > Cameras - medium format

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 25th September 2010, 08:12 AM
Friend

Default What camera for a newbie!

At college we have some medium (and large) format cameras.
I fancy trying the medium format out - they have Bronica and Mamiya.

I don't know anything about medium format and last week I actually held one for the first time! Our tutor brought in his Hassleblad - I was in total awe - what a beast!!!

Anyway, what do you think would be the best camera to buy as a total beginner to medium format?
Obviously I'm going to borrow one from college to try out first but I'd like to know which would be best if I decide to buy one.

RB67 Pro S
Canon EOS 30
Old 25th September 2010, 08:23 AM
Friend

From my limited experience I think it really depends on a lot of different factors.

Do you want an SLR, a TLR or a rangefinder?

What frame size do you want? 645 doesn't give that much over 35mm from what I've been told (but having never shot either I couldn't confirm it), 6x6 is probably the most abundant format but doesn't work for everything and I find it quite difficult sometimes as I'm not one of those people who can look through the viewfinder and see how I'm going to crop it later, or there's 6x7, I think this is better for portraiture than 6x6 and would get one if I hadn't already invested so much in Bronica 6x6.

Studio based or mobile? By all accounts the Mamiya 6x7s are hefty beasts, do you want to lug one around all day or do you want something lighter?

Do you want interchangeable backs? If not, what about a Pentax 6x7 SLR? Has it's own quirks by all accounts but also has long, reasonably fast lenses which don't cost the earth.