Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Monochrome Work > Monochrome Film

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 23rd February 2018, 11:45 AM
Friend

Default Microphen

I was going to replace my B&W developer with ID11 after the FX39 I had been using died a sudden death. However I have been offered 2 x 1 ltr packs of Ilford Microphen for free. I have never used it before, so opinions please if you will.
Old 23rd February 2018, 01:07 PM
Friend

A speed-increasing developer, good for pushing HP5 to EI3200. It was once my most used developer, nice tonality, too.
Old 23rd February 2018, 03:08 PM
Friend

No speed increase really needed. It will be used on Ilford Delta 100 and the camera on a tripod. But if the increase comes with it then so be it. I'm not inclined to turn down free chemicals.

I have looked the website 'Digital Truth' and the film developing times are included for a standard film speed as well as speed increased ones as well. The Ilford standard developing chart on line compares exactly with the Digital Truth one. I only asked the question to get others opinion about it.
Old 23rd February 2018, 04:07 PM
Friend

John, I have yet to use my Microphen so cannot comment as a user but Argentum, I think, did a number of tests on film speed and found that only Microphen gave D3200 full "box " speed which strongly suggests that it is a speed increasing developer as I think Ilford either says or strongly hints at, although maybe not as much as Argentum found.

I mention this only to lead to this statement: Namely that the price of speed increasing developers is usually more grain. So an increase in grain may be expected but by how much and at what point it is seen in prints, I have no idea

Mike
Old 23rd February 2018, 05:21 PM
Friend