Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Monochrome Work > Monochrome printing techniques

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 14th February 2009, 08:13 AM
Friend

Default Split Grade Printing

In another thread Bill Mar said:

"Perhaps because I have never tried it, I have no knowledge of split grade printing, does it really give a better print than a straight single grade print?"

Last edited by Dave miller; 14th February 2009 at 08:17 AM. Reason: This question has been moved here from the book section,
Old 14th February 2009, 08:30 AM
Friend

My experience of split-grade printing is that the technique is of use for creating local contrast variations within a print. If, for example we burn in part of a sky at grade one, or make a vignetting burn at G5, then that’s a form of split grade printing. However if we split-grade the whole print, then the resulting contrast must have an equivalent composite grade, although it could be one that’s not achievable with under-lens filters.

Les posted an article here about the subject.
Old 14th February 2009, 10:25 AM
Friend

Dave, like you I do a lot of split grade printing, both localised, e.g. base exposure at a one grade + burn at another grade. I also print using just G5+G0. However I tend to favour producing a print at G2.5 then fine tune it using G5 or G4 and/or G0 or G1. If the print is too soft at G2.5 I reduce the G2.5 exposure and add G5 or G4 (depending on brand of paper) to the mix, likewise if too hard I add G0 or 1 (again depending on brand of paper).

I find this slight variation works well for me.
"To the attentive eye, each moment of the year has its own beauty, and in the same field, it beholds, every hour, a picture which was never seen before, and which will never be seen again" Ralph Waldo Emerson.

Timespresent