Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   Keyphoto   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   RK Photo   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies   Silverprint Ltd

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Equipment > Darkroom

  ***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st December 2008, 12:04 AM
Argentum's Avatar
Argentum Argentum is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sceptred Isle
Posts: 3,066
Default Durst TRA500

I have one of these and I can't get the head lead plug out of it. i.e. the power out plug. Its been setup for so long I can't remember whether it ever came out but it looks like an iec plug. I've taken the transformer cover off and tried to force it with a screw driver but it's stuck solid. Can anyone out there with one of these units, tell me whether yours unplugs or whether the plug is a fixed permanently.
__________________
An old dog learning new tricks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st December 2008, 06:27 AM
Dave miller Dave miller is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6,322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by percepts View Post
I have one of these and I can't get the head lead plug out of it. i.e. the power out plug. Its been setup for so long I can't remember whether it ever came out but it looks like an iec plug. I've taken the transformer cover off and tried to force it with a screw driver but it's stuck solid. Can anyone out there with one of these units, tell me whether yours unplugs or whether the plug is a fixed permanently.
The output plug is detachable.
__________________
Regards
Dave
www.davids.org.uk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st December 2008, 12:50 PM
Argentum's Avatar
Argentum Argentum is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sceptred Isle
Posts: 3,066
Default

That's what I thought. Mine seems to have welded itself to the tranformer
__________________
An old dog learning new tricks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st December 2008, 02:36 PM
Dave miller Dave miller is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6,322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by percepts View Post
That's what I thought. Mine seems to have welded itself to the tranformer
Is it possible to get the screw out that holds the two halves of the plug together? If you can then you may be able to work on each pin separately. Other than that, if it's otherwise working correctly, then introducing a line connector in the lead may be the answer. It's a mystery why it should be stuck.
__________________
Regards
Dave
www.davids.org.uk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st December 2008, 03:37 PM
Bob's Avatar
Bob Bob is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London(ish)
Posts: 2,567
Default

Some IEC connectors have a latching mechanism - but I've no idea if that one has. Besides, I imagine it would be obvious if it had... Ignore me....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st December 2008, 04:11 PM
Dave miller Dave miller is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6,322
Default

I've just had a look at mine and can confirm that it's a straight push-in plug, albeit quite stiff. I doubt that my idea of taking the screw out and splitting it will help since the plug fits into a recess in the transformer housing.
__________________
Regards
Dave
www.davids.org.uk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st December 2008, 07:16 PM
Argentum's Avatar
Argentum Argentum is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sceptred Isle
Posts: 3,066
Default

Well I tried again and still no joy. I tried prising it out with a screw driver from the inside and it won't budge. I think it's a permanent fixture.
__________________
An old dog learning new tricks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st December 2008, 08:26 PM
Barry's Avatar
Barry Barry is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mendip Hills, Somerset
Posts: 2,341
Default

If its not making good contact the pins may have arced and welded themselves together? Does it get hot or smell burnt? Just a thought.
__________________
Cheers, Barry
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st December 2008, 10:36 PM
Argentum's Avatar
Argentum Argentum is offline
Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sceptred Isle
Posts: 3,066
Default

it works fine. I'm just moving things about and wanted to reroute cables. I'll have to disconnect the top of the wall mount to put the cable behind the column which will do it without unplugging it.
__________________
An old dog learning new tricks
Reply With Quote
Reply
Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   Keyphoto   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   RK Photo   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies   Silverprint Ltd

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Durst enlargers Alan Sleator Darkroom 15 3rd September 2014 10:23 AM
Durst Labator Enlarger spares Hughes Darkroom 3 5th September 2009 10:45 AM
FS Wallmount for Durst M670 Argentum Sale or Wanted 1 13th April 2009 11:16 PM
I collected my Durst enlarger today kennethcooke Darkroom 7 28th January 2009 06:20 PM
Filters for Durst Modular 70 Argentum Darkroom 2 14th December 2008 07:40 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.