Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > General discussions > Top Tips

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 10th January 2012, 04:25 PM
Friend

Default Distilled water

Now its not perfectly pure -but very close and a free waste product of a dehumidifier that I have in my conservatory!

It produces plenty of it in the winter, and is ideal for mixing up stock solutions or the final wash for film.
Old 10th January 2012, 05:39 PM
Friend

To quote from an earlier thread re dehmidifiers....

Quote:
Vincent, as an Air Conditioning Engineer I cannot stress strongly enough - DON'T DO IT

The condensate collects almost everything from the atmosphere, dust, hair, dead skin, oils from cooking and lots more besides.

Just to add to the cocktail it has its own microbiological cultures too, which in their spare time like to eat metal

The only thing condensate is fit for is a drain.

If you have tap water quality issues then commercial demineralised or reverse osmosis water is reasonably affordable.

Try your local car parts shop for Battery Water or pharmacy.

Martin
Search 'dehumidifier' on this forum. We have some posts concerning the condensate.
Old 21st January 2012, 01:33 PM
Friend

Hmmm yes some interesting points, it will always have some airborne contaminates, form a fat /microbiological perspective, the amount of fried food I'm 'allowed' is next to zero ( a breakfast roll from a van is such a treat when I'm let out on my own!) and the dehumidifier is located about 50' from the kitchen.

It collects a surprising amount of water in the winter, and have tried the water by letting it evaporate off a piece of neg v tap water (in a puddle in the centre)- the contents of the dehumidifier has obviously less dissolved materials in it, and no dust I could see.