Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Monochrome Work > Monochrome printing techniques

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 17th June 2009, 12:36 PM
Friend

Default Lith printing

As will be apparent from my FADU album, I’ve taken the plunge and entered the world of lith printing

Firstly I have to say a big thank you to Dave Lingham for his helpful advice (and lith developer recipe). Secondly, compared to Dave and others, I am a total novice at this and any comments, views and experiences recounted should be seen from that perspective.

For those who don’t already know – it’s a printing process based on over-exposing paper and developing in a weak lith developer. Lith printing seems to have a reputation of being difficult and hard to control. I’m neither good nor experienced enough to comment in detail, but I’d say learning to make a basic print is not much harder than learning to make a conventional wet print. Refinement of technique, consistency etc are another story and only time will tell if I can achieve these.

Ok, so why try it? Well, partly because I can! I’ve only been taking photos seriously and working in a darkroom for about 2 years and I’m still very much at the experimental stage - so many choices of films, papers and chemicals. More seriously perhaps, because looking at other peoples’ images has shown what an interesting way of representing a subject lith can be.