Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Equipment > Cameras - Large Format

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 3rd June 2012, 11:02 PM
Friend

Thumbs down Second Hand Film Holders

I recently decided to increase my number of Film Holders to allow me several days shooting before having to stop and re-load.

Having sought advice here on FADU, I decided to take the plunge and buy some second hand Film Holders.

I bought off EBay and only bought ones which were described as “as new” or “very good condition”

Visually, most of those I bought did indeed seem to be almost new.

However, being an engineer, I take nothing for granted and decided to test them for light-tightness before doing any serious work with them.

To test the Film Holders, I loaded them with Ilford Direct Positive FB Paper.

I then loaded each Film Holder in turn into my camera (shutter closed), and with the aperture facing directly towards the sun, pulled out the Darkslide, leaving the light trap to keep out the suns rays for 120 seconds.

I chose 120 sec for the FB Paper as it should roughly be equivalent to 100ASA film for 4 seconds, which I felt was a reasonable time the Film Holder might be left exposed in normal working conditions.

The results when I developed the Paper, were disappointing to say the least.

Only about 1 in 3 of the Film Holders passed the test – showing no signs of light leaks.

The majority of those which looked as if they had only seen very light service actually leaked light slightly. Too much to be safely used in the field but perhaps could be used in a studio type condition.

Those Film Holders that looked as if they had seen the most wear and tear, almost all light-leaked from moderately to quite badly.

I was wondering, for those who have also bought second hand Film Holders