Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Monochrome Work > Monochrome printing techniques

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 11th July 2019, 11:11 AM
Friend

Question Presentation of Square Prints.

I have been using a Rolleiflex for a few years now and usually print the negatives around 8"x 8".

I am more used to 35mm and 6x7 format films, so I would like to know how some of the FADU 6x6 format users like to present their prints including image print size, borders or not, mount sizes and framing etc.

I would like to avoid cropping as much as possible.

Thanks in advance.

Keith.
Old 11th July 2019, 11:47 AM
Friend

I love a square print Keith.

Where ever possible I try to print the full negative = as long as I have composed well in camera of course. I then quite often leave a thinnish black border, using a slightly filed out negative holder. I know it's not everyone's taste, but I think it suits a lot of images and stops any border lighter areas bleeding into the borders, of which I leave at least 1/2" to 3/4" with a bit extra left at the bottom.

It'll be interesting to hear others views.

Terry S
Old 11th July 2019, 12:29 PM
Friend

I tend tp print full frame and on 9 1/2x12 paper which makes my prints 8 1/2 by 8 1/2,and mounting onto again square board, 19x19 with a 4 1/4 border all round
Richard
Old 11th July 2019, 01:03 PM
Friend

This is 32.5cm X 32.5cm on 40x50cm paper and frame. Sorry about the reflections!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190711_145014-1728x1728.jpg
Views:	481
Size:	155.2 KB
ID:	3150  

“Reaching a creative state of mind thru positive action
is considered preferable to waiting for inspiration.”
- Minor White, 1950
Old 11th July 2019, 01:06 PM
Friend

I'm working on mounts and frames max 60x60cm but these are pricey.