Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Alternative Processes > Alternate printing processes

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 1st December 2020, 05:09 PM
Friend

Default reversal prints

I have got my MPP camera out all set for tomorrow ,and filled 5 film holders with 10 sheets of Ilford RC paper and have my citric acid and peroxide ready to do some reversal prints tomorrow ,turning paper negatives in to positives .. I have never done this before ,so it should be fun ,I may even try colour next year .has anybody tried this prosses ..
Old 2nd December 2020, 12:10 AM
Friend

Default reversal colour prints

It's much easier to reversal-process colour paper because all of the silver is bleached out, leaving only a dye image. In B&W, the desired image is contained in the silver produced in the second development, so you have to be careful not to bleach it out earlier in the sequence.

Once upon a time there was an Eastman Product processed in R100 chemistry. It wasn't very good, although it was better than the Ansco equivalent of the era. Then Kodak-Pathé Chalon-sur-Saône (France) came up with Ektachrome paper, vastly better and processed in four-bath R14. It was a replenished system and had a smelly acetic acid stop bath. Then came R3, a version with a water wash in place of the stop bath. There was a paper version with adjusted contrast for making copy prints, which you could use for photography in a large-format camera and loads of light. The water bath needed to start with an egg-cupfull of first developer in it to correct slightly pink highlights.