Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Equipment > Darkroom

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 25th January 2017, 04:11 PM
Friend

Default Problem with printing b/w

Hi everybody!
Sorry if I’m in the wrong section of the forum but this seemed correct to me
(I’m not very good at english and not very familiar with english photo terms yet so bare with me)

So, I’ve been having some trouble in the darkroom lately that I thought I might check with you guys to get new ideas. I’m not at all experienced in the dark room so i propably got some big gaps in my knowledge. Anyway.
From one month to another SOMETHING happened in the darkroom and now i can’t get proper prints! I include a real crappy mobile photo for you to at least get the idea The left one (which I'm happy with. IRL that is) and the right one which obviously is not very good…
What is going on in the faulty one?
I’ve used the exact same settings (but I’ve also tried others, and I’ve tried another enlarger but with pretty much the same result). I’ve exchanged the processing liquid (and tried two different brands) with the same dilution as normally. The light and temperature is like the’ve always been so no change there.
I thought i might have exposed the papers to light or perhaps they were old so i bought new ones but the result was the same.
The only thing i can think of that might be the problem is that the processing liquid is old. It might be. I can’t check right now. But it worked perfectly fine one month ago! Does it go from OK to unusable that quickly?
I’ve also tried with different negatives but the result is the same.

So do you have any ideas? Probably the liquid or have I missed something vital?
Been broke but will by some new liquid asap.
Thank you for your thoughts and suggestions!
Attached Thumbnails