Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > General discussions > Photography in general

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 29th January 2012, 09:40 PM
Friend

Default Reciprocity for Pinhole?

I'm toying with the idea of purchasing the new Ilford pinhole 4x5 setup but have a few questions/reservations. I have just ordered a 6x7 rollfilm back because I would rather for the time being anyways avoid having to process sheet film. My darkroom is not lightproof and by change tent is a bit too small except in an emergency. Later .... perhaps?

Can anyone tell me if there may be anything I'm overlooking by using 6x6 in this pinhole made for 4x5? Is the pinhole size likely to work ok?

My major issue however is the one of film reciprocity. My favorite film right now is Foma 400 and 100. I like it due to the price, the look and especially that now that I'm dialed in for it and I has become a smooth process with those films. How well advised, or ill advised is it to try to continue using the Foma 400 due to its reciprocity characteristics? I'd like to settle on a 400 film and it is a bit worrisome to venture forward. On the one hand Tmax, which I used to like and still have about ten rolls of 120 left lying around is available in both 120 and sheet - for now. On the other Ilford 400 is not available is sheet film.

I'd like to pick one film and use it in 6x7 first but have the option for sheet film as well, in the same film. So is Foma 400 doable or ill advised? Thanks. I'm sitting on the fence and will go spring for the pinhole or return the rollfilm holder instead and keep on truck'n the way I've been going.

If you wonder why I'm not considering the Delta 100 ... well it is slow and also the twenty or so rolls of 120 I've gone through so far (I bought 30 to test out) have not really worked for us.