Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Equipment > Darkroom

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 9th July 2013, 02:33 PM
Friend

Default 5x4 enlargers

I am toying with the idea of getting a 5x4 enlarger. I have a 5x4 camera which is not getting much use. I have an LPL 7700 for my other work.

What are the preferred options? I have no experience of enlarging this type of negative - I usually scan the negatives at this size. I am also concerned about the height as my darkroom ceiling is not that high either. Some of these beasts seem huge.

I am only intererested in monochrome. There is a devere going near me but it does not have the necessary holders for 5x4 or the right lenses, so considerations of how easy it is to get hold of accessories seems to be quite important. There seem to be a lot of bargains around, but these also could be false economy.

Any advice appreciated.
Old 9th July 2013, 03:20 PM
Friend

5x4 DeVere Neg Holders and 135/150mm lenses are easily obtained either on flee-bay or Secondhand Darkrooms.

New DeVere bits are available too from Odyssey - http://www.odyssey-sales.co.uk/

I'm not familiar withe the B&W version - but when looking at older colour units watch out for dodgy power transformers - they can be expensive to replace.

The top of my column is about 50 inches above the work surface.

Hope this helps

Martin
Old 9th July 2013, 03:29 PM
Friend

Thanks. That's all useful!
Old 9th July 2013, 05:40 PM
Friend

Quote:
Originally Posted by lithprinter View Post
I am toying with the idea of getting a 5x4 enlarger. I have a 5x4 camera which is not getting much use. I have an LPL 7700 for my other work.