Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > General discussions > Photography in general

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 15th September 2014, 02:18 PM
Friend

Default USA Roadtrip/Vacation - NYC, SF, Vegas

Hiya, does anyone have any tips regarding anything photographic that would be good to know about before I pop over the pond? i.e. best stores for buying film? Galleries in NYC, SF or Vegas? Ansel Adams in Yosemite? Second-hand equip stores?

Any hints, tips, ideas, suggestions most appreciated.

Thanks, Simon
Old 15th September 2014, 02:44 PM
Friend

never been so I have no personal personal experience but http://www.bhphotovideo.com/ is one to be visited if just for the experience. Hope you're not prone to GAS attacks or you might find your wallet empties faster than you planned.

p.s. If you're bringing back presents I'd like one of these: http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...Table_Top.html

Last edited by Argentum; 15th September 2014 at 03:00 PM.
Old 15th September 2014, 05:40 PM
Friend

Simon you jammy person you , what a trip that will be ,pop down to the library and take out a dvd called easy rider .. oh and take a camera that's my tips..... and have fun

www.essexcockney.com
Old 18th September 2014, 03:32 PM
Friend

Since you'll be in NYC, B&H and Adorama are certainly good spots to hit for used gear and film-related things.

Doesn't look like you will, but if you should happen to find yourself anywhere near Hollywood when you're over on the left coast, Freestyle Photographic have a retail store there and cater well to us film/darkroom types (and also alt process stuff).

KEH Camera in Smyrna, Georgia are one of the better sources for used gear (though it doesn't sound like you'll be anywhere near it either).