Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Equipment > Darkroom

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 13th July 2011, 09:23 AM
Friend

Default Budget B/W chemicals

Hello everyone,
I'm a student and on a budget, please could anybody recommend me some B/w darkroom chemicals which work well.
Old 13th July 2011, 10:41 AM
Friend

Hello and welcome to FADU,

If you don't mind a bit of grain with fast films Rodinal is about the most economical and one of the best film developers around. Alternatively a good all rounder (and the industry standard) that produces excellent results with most films is Kodak’s D76 (NB. not the equivalent ID11 which is more expensive to buy). Don't use a stop bath for films and save money - a plain water rinse/wash is OK. For fixer (films and papers) they are all good but shop around to get the best price - keep an eye on dilutions etc. For paper developer Neutol NE is a good buy and a nice developer. It can be used between 1+7 and 1+14 and keeps well and is economical.

Check out our sponsors’ websites for more information and prices. If you need any more help just ask here.
Neil.

Neil Souch
Old 13th July 2011, 11:32 AM
Friend

Another vote for Rodinal, it's very economical (probably the cheapest of all per film) and keeps for years and years.

RH Designs darkroom equipment : dalesphoto.co.uk
Old 13th July 2011, 11:47 AM
Friend

Smile Another vote for Rodinal

I use it all the time, have done for decades. Comfortable with it, dependable, economical, but more importantly lasts for ever( well. it probably would if you never use it )
Old 13th July 2011, 11:49 AM
Friend

Also like Neil,with film developing I simply use plenty of water for a "Stop"
Old 13th July 2011, 12:25 PM
Friend