Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Monochrome Work > Monochrome printing techniques

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 21st April 2019, 07:16 AM
Friend

Default Another contrast question

Hello everyone,

I am new to FADU, and have been skimming the fora hoping not to take up anyone's time with questions already answered by others, but I can't see a recentish thread on my specific question, so I hope you'll forgive starting a new thread.

I am fairly new to printing in the darkroom, and enjoying experimenting with prints a heck of a lot. However, my specific question is about how to get maximum contrast in a print.

My enlarger is a Kaiser V diffusion head, so I often max out the magenta and use dodging and burning techniques, and use glossy RC paper (Kentmere VC Select for preference) when trying for maximum contrast. Generally I can get a print I'm fairly happy with, but there are some negs where the image is a bit underexposed and the highlights and shadows are just too close together in to use dodging and burning effectively. What else could I try to get the most contrast out of my setup? Getting a condenser head isn't really an option!
Old 21st April 2019, 12:11 PM
Friend

If your enlarger doesn't give you the equivalent of grade 5 then you could try using ilford mg under the lens filters.

However, it may be that your negs need longer development in order to increase contrast.

“Reaching a creative state of mind thru positive action
is considered preferable to waiting for inspiration.”
- Minor White, 1950
Old 21st April 2019, 12:42 PM
Friend

The only way I can get the look I am wanting in B&W is with a condenser enlarger.