Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Chemistry > Manufactured brews

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 3rd September 2016, 10:11 PM
Friend

Default tetenal

I have done it again , I have bought something I have never used before and its got me confused (that's not hard)anyway bought a bottle of Tetenal ultrafin negative developer and I cannot understand the instructions ,for example I want to develop a roll Ilford FP4,1x10 dilution ,there are two dev times A and B , A says 5min and B says 8min,then at the bottom it says inversion agitation rhythm A=3sec. B=1min. I have always agitated the last 10seconds of every minute .any help ???.also whats it like is it any good ,I would like your opinion as well as your help..PS I have just looked at the massive chart for HP5 and it says continuous agitation at 4.5mins now I am stumped...

www.essexcockney.com
Old 4th September 2016, 08:30 AM
Friend

I couldn't agree more Paul!

If I were you, I would go with the times in the Ilford data sheets which states 7mins 30secs HP5 and 7mins for FP4. I would do agitation as you do normally and go from there.

And the products I've used from Tetenal, I've been very pleased with.

Ilford data sheet links
www.ilfordphoto.com/Webfiles/20106281054152313.pdf

www.ilfordphoto.com/Webfiles/2010712125850702.pdf

“Reaching a creative state of mind thru positive action
is considered preferable to waiting for inspiration.”
- Minor White, 1950

Last edited by MartyNL; 4th September 2016 at 08:36 AM.
Old 4th September 2016, 11:31 AM
Friend