Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Site Forums > Introductions

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 13th June 2017, 08:21 AM
Friend

Default Fibre Paper

Hi,
I have been printing on RC paper on and off for about 20 years but have only recently set up a proper dark room where i can process fibre paper.
Do fibre papers have better tonal reproduction properties than RC?
Are there any other advantages to fibre?
Old 18th June 2017, 09:23 AM
Print Exchange Manager

If there are, I am not sure what they are. There are claims for increased quality and 'feel' but how much of that is prejudice, snobbishness and habit of use is IMO questionable.
The expensive ones, I think, have a thicker emulsion layer so that there could be more 'depth' to the print. I haven't used fibre based paper for many a year because of the convenience, ease of use and cost advantage to RC.
I would be hard put to tell the difference between prints of mine of the same neg. made on fibre and RC paper without handling.
Mike
Old 18th June 2017, 12:12 PM
Friend

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Sell View Post
Hi,
I have been printing on RC paper on and off for about 20 years but have only recently set up a proper dark room where i can process fibre paper.
Do fibre papers have better tonal reproduction properties than RC?
Are there any other advantages to fibre?