Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > General discussions > Photography in general

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 14th December 2017, 02:53 PM
Friend

Default Weston Master V Light Meter

Hi everyone,

I wondered if anyone might be able to help me on something.

I have a Weston Master V Light Meter which I love. However, I'm getting inconsistent results between the baffle being open and closed. When it's closed (high light scale), the readings match my digital app almost exactly. But when it's open (low light scale) it's 2 marks too low, resulting in overexposure.

Does anyone know if this can be corrected, or if it's possible to have these repaired/recalibrated?

Thanks, Rob
Old 14th December 2017, 05:07 PM
Friend

A brief search online turns up this website:
http://www.westonmeter.org.uk/Manualsandrepairs.html

It provides these links to this UK repair service:
https://ian-partridge.com/
https://ian-partridge.com/westonrepair.html
I tried the links and found they still work.

When using any Weston be sure to avoid casting its shadow on the surface being measured close up. Also, if the low level meter reading is consistently low by the same amount, you can always make the mental adjustment to close down the f/stop accordingly. Age is definitely a factor, though. My Master IV that I bought new in the '60s eventually gave up the ghost, forcing me to get a spot meter that I always wanted anyway.

Last edited by Jerry Bodine; 14th December 2017 at 05:36 PM.
Old 14th December 2017, 05:36 PM
Friend