Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Equipment > Darkroom

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 22nd January 2013, 09:53 PM
Friend

Default Changing bags/ lifespan of chemicals

Hello

I'm a complete newbie in the process of setting up my first dark room and have just bought a 'set' copntaining various bits of eqipment and kit from ebay, and whilst I have many questions relating to its contents, I'm guessing the best way is to ask a single question ( or in this case two....) as and when I'm in a position to put the eqipment to practical application.

Does the room need to be the same complete (apart from safelight) darkness for printing as it does for spooling the fim into the developing tank spiral ?

Is a changing bag 'better' in any way ?

and ( sorry this is three questions )

The print kit came with some small bottles of upopened undated ( the paper was dated expiry 2002 so I'm guessing a similar age ) jessops own brand econostop, econofix and econoprint chemicals -

would they still be usable or would I be better getting new chemicals as, as a complete newbie I would have no idea what was user error and what was due to chemical process in judging results.

If the fixer and stop bath were usable, would it be ok to mix these with a new different brand of chemical for the film developing ?

and whilst I'm here...would the unopened paper still be worth using ?

many thanks in anticpation for any help

Sarah
Old 22nd January 2013, 10:08 PM
Friend

Okay, I'll have a go at your questions.