Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > Equipment > Darkroom

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 7th April 2011, 09:49 AM
Print Exchange Manager

Default Nova Slot Processor and developer

I have been using a Nova Slot Processor for over ten years now. Up until recently I have used Ilford Multigrade developer (1+9) and have changed the developer every two months as well as refilling as necessary, quite happily.
More recently I have switched to using Kentmere VC Selectplus (I have liberated quite a lot with the flight to *ital!!). This turns brown (at 1+4 and 1+9) much more quickly than the Multigrade. There is also a loss of contrast in the Selectplusthat I have not previously noticed with the Multigrade at what I take to be full development. Does anyone have any experiences of the keeping property of particularily developer in a 'toaster'?
Mike
Old 7th April 2011, 01:32 PM
Friend

Just so I have understood you correctly, Mike. Selectplus is a paper developer made by or commissioned by Kentmere for its paper that has poorer keeping qualities than Ilford MG dev in terms of producing the correct contrast?

I have never heard of this dev I must admit. Now that Ilford owns Kentmere you'd wonder how much longer it will survive especially if it is an inferior quality dev.

Mike
Old 7th April 2011, 05:55 PM
Print Exchange Manager

Mike:
You got it right. I hadn't heard of it until I liberated it.
It certainly dates from before the takeover - I have a fair amount of it and don't want to waste it, and wondered what other people have experienced with developers in toasters.
Mike
Old 7th April 2011, 05:59 PM
Friend

It may be that the dev is very old. Where did you liberate it from? What's its history? Presumably even unopened dev eventually goes off?