Support our Sponsors, they keep FADU free:   AG Photographic   The Imaging Warehouse   Process Supplies   RH Designs   Second-hand Darkroom Supplies  

Notices

Go Back   Film and Darkroom User > General discussions > Photography in general

***   Click here for the FADU 2015/2014 Yearbooks   ***

Old 23rd October 2012, 10:15 PM
New User

Default Auto range 820 Ross London

Hi everyone

Can anyone give me info on this
Old 25th October 2012, 08:46 PM
Friend

Hello and welcome to FADU!

Sorry, I've got no personal experience with this camera.
But if it's just info your after there's plenty out there!

“Reaching a creative state of mind thru positive action
is considered preferable to waiting for inspiration.”
- Minor White, 1950
Old 26th October 2012, 05:41 AM
Friend

Hi and welcome to Fadu, sorry I don't know the Ensign Autorange, but I have 4 Ensign cameras and they are great cameras and very usable, the only thing about the autorange 820 is that it has a very good reputation, and was in production from the early 30's, and if it is a Ross ensign and has the Ross xpress lens then it is a later model as Ross took over Ensign in, I believe, the late 40's early 50's, and the express lens is a tesser type, and as good, if not better, than the tesser lens, I say this from using several cameras fitted with the tesser lens, and the Epsilon shutter is not bad at all, it may need a service, but if it is not sticking then it gives very little trouble, just on quirk is that you must never move from 25 to 10 on the shutter with the shutter cocked, that can badly damange the shutter, if fact it is better never to change shutter speed with the shutter cocked, apart from that these cameras are very capable indeed.
Richard
Old 26th October 2012, 09:08 AM
Friend

The Autorange 820 is the top of the range MF Ensign camera of the 1950's, prior to this the rangefinder weren't coupled. They are quite desirable cameras and in very good condition fetch quite high prices.